THE REGION

Stylish Living... The French way

Château de Monboucher is located in the Dordogne/Périgord region and is deemed "the heart of France", by the Michelin Guide. The beautiful Dordogne Valley and its magnificent cliffs, prehistoric caves and sublime châteaux, offer endless journeys of discovery as well as gastronomical delights: exceptional wine, rich black truffles, foie gras, cheeses not to mention the delicious local walnut cake.

Bergerac, France

Eight kilometres east of the chateau is the charming town of Bergerac. Situated On the banks of the Dordogne River, it is surrounded by vineyards, tobacco plantations and arable fields. The old town centre has been tastefully restored and has beautiful 15th and 16th century buildings, built of honey-coloured sandstone. Made great by past trade along the Dordogne, Bergerac today hosts a great selection of shops, bars and restaurants.

Region_Bergerac_peter-schulz-TO7lXWH0TUs-unsplash
wine-g6017a8930_1920

Wine

Bergerac is renowned for its beautiful vineyards and excellent wines. There are 13 Appellations d'Origine Controlées (AOC) for red, white and rosé wines. Wines from Bergerac are somewhat lighter than those from neighbouring Bordeaux and offer excellent value for money. The famous French sweet wine "Monbazillac" is produced only a few kilometres from Château de Monboucher. The château of Monbazillac is a stone’s throw and, with its in-depth information centre, is definitely worth a trip.

Weather

Château de Monboucher is located in the southwest of France, only 85 kilometres from Bordeaux. That means plenty of sunshine. The "SudOuest" region is one of the warmest in France - but without the intense heat in high summer thanks to the breeze from the Atlantic coast.

jonathan-farber-vsD-F1l5S64-unsplash
bordeaux-gadf3217d7_1920

Bordeaux

As the world's wine capital, Bordeaux is both a historic city and a modern metropolis with magnificent architecture, museums, restaurants and shops. The city centre, protected as a World Heritage Site, has been extensively restored in recent years. Bordeaux is one to two hours' drive from Château de Monboucher depending on traffic......and delight you anew with every visit and is not to be missed.

Food & Restaurants

The Périgord is famous for its authentic and fine cuisine. It is home to many famous French specialities. You will find a variety of excellent restaurants in Bergerac and the nearby surroundings.

rodolfo-marques-GzBO_o0RvEg-unsplash
perigord-g2e48c9161_1920

History

Living in Périgord means being surrounded by castles, fortresses, historic sites, parks and museums. Ancient caves like those of Lascaux are the reason why this part of France is also called the birthplace of human civilisation.

Art & Culture

Particularly during the summer, music and theatre festivals abound. This enjoyable and picturesque area has For years, this inspriational area has attracted a variety of artists and artisans to work and exhibit here. We are delighted to support this tradition with our ‘Artist in Residence’ concept.

La Cité du Vin©Teddy Verneuil - @lezbroz
© lezbroz
chateau-des-vigiers-1

Golf

The surrounding area of Bergerac offers several golf courses. The luxurious Château de Vigier golf course is only a 15 minute drive from our château.

Martin Walker

In 1999, the Scottish historian, political journalist and author Martin Walker moved to the Périgord with his family. Inspired by its history and its inhabitants, he wrote his first crime novel ‘Bruno - Chef de Police’ in 2008. His Bruno novels have been published in 18 languages. The historical novel Shadow on the Wall, published in 2012, is also set in the Périgord. Bruno – Chef de policeSeine Bruno-Romane erschienen in 18 Sprachen. Ebenfalls im Périgord spielt der historische Roman Schatten an der Wand, der 2012 erschien.

book-2135768_1280b
cropped-MON_Logo_Marke_Pant187_1c_pos.png

Contact details

24680 Lamonzie Saint Martin
Bergerac, France

+33 7 83 41 33 10
axel.boesch@chateaudemonboucher.com

Unsere Kanäle

© Château de Monboucher. All Rights Reserved

Die Region

Art de vivre à la française

Das Château de Monboucher befindet sich in der Region Dordogne/Périgord, "das Herzstück von Frankreich", wie es der Guide vert Michelin anmerkt. Das wunderschöne Dordogne-Tal und seine herrlichen Klippen, prähistorischen Höhlen und erhabenen Schlösser, laden ein zu unendlichen Entdeckungsreisen, bei denen man ein Glas Wein, schwarze Trüffel oder ein Stück Walnusstorte genießen kann.

Bergerac

Etwa acht Kilometer östlich vom Schloss befindet sich die charmante kleine Stadt Bergerac. Am Ufer des Flusses Dordogne gelegen, ist sie umgeben von Weingütern, Tabakplantagen, Weizen- und Maisfeldern. Der Altstadtkern wurde aufwendig restauriert und hat wunderschöne Gebäude aus dem 15. und 16. Jahrhundert, gemauert aus honigfarbenem Sandstein. Einst durch den Handel entlang der Dordogne groß geworden, lädt Bergerac heute zum Einkaufen und sehr gutem Essen ein.

Region_Bergerac_peter-schulz-TO7lXWH0TUs-unsplash
wine-g6017a8930_1920

Wein

Bergerac ist bekannt für seine schönen Weinberge und exzellenten Weine. Es gibt 13 Appelations d’Origine Controlées (AOC) für Rot-, Weiß- und Roséweine. Weine aus dem Bergerac sind etwas leichter als die aus dem westlicher gelegenen Bordeaux und bieten ein sehr interessantes Preis/Leistungsverhältnis. Der berühmte französische Süsswein „Monbazillac“ wird nur wenige Kilometer vom Château de Monboucher entfernt produziert. Das Schloss von Monbazillac ist wunderschön gelegen und mit seinem ausgeprägten Kulturprogramm immer ein lohnendes Ziel für einen kleinen Ausflug.

Wetter

Das Château de Monboucher liegt im Südwesten von Frankreich, nur 85 Kilometer von Bordeaux entfernt. Das bedeutet: Sonne satt. Die Region „SudOuest“ ist eine der wärmsten Frankeichs – aber ohne die große Hitze im Hochsommer, weil die Atlantikküste immer eine kleine Brise sendet.

jonathan-farber-vsD-F1l5S64-unsplash
bordeaux-gadf3217d7_1920

Bordeaux

Als Weltweinhauptstadt ist Bordeaux gleichzeitig eine historische Sehenswürdigkeit und eine moderne Metropole mit historischen Bauten, Museen, Restaurants und Geschäften. Der als Weltkulturerbe geschützte historische Stadtkern wurde in den letzten Jahren aufwendig restauriert. Bordeaux ist, je nach Verkehrsaufkommen, Auto und Fahrweise, ein bis zwei Autostunden vom Château de Monboucher entfernt und wird Sie bei jedem Besuch aufs Neue beeindrucken und begeistern.

Lebensmittel & Restaurants

Das Périgord ist berühmt für seine authentische und feine Küche. Es ist die Heimat zahlreicher bekannter französischer Spezialitäten. In Bergerac und in naher Umgebung finden Sie eine Vielzahl von exzellenten Restaurants.

rodolfo-marques-GzBO_o0RvEg-unsplash
perigord-g2e48c9161_1920

Geschichte

Im Périgord zu leben, bedeutet von Schlössern, Burgen, historischen Stätten, Parks und Museen umgeben zu sein. Uralte Höhlen wie die von Lascaux sind der Grund, warum dieser Teil von Frankreich auch der Geburtsort der menschlichen Zivilisation genannt wird.

Kunst & Kultur

Insbesondere im Sommer werden Sie die Möglichkeit haben, diverse Musik- und Theaterfestivals zu besuchen. Diese genussvolle und malerische Gegend hat seit Jahren eine Vielzahl von Künstlern und Kunsthandwerkern angezogen, um hier zu arbeiten und auszustellen. Diese Tradition werden wir mit unserem Konzept „Artist in Residence“ ebenfalls unterstützen.

La Cité du Vin©Teddy Verneuil - @lezbroz
© lezbroz
chateau-des-vigiers-1

Golf

Die Gegend um Bergerac bietet diverse Golfplätze. Der luxuriöse Golfplatz  Château de Vigier ist nur eine viertel Stunde von unserem Schloss entfernt.

Martin Walker

1999 zog der schottischer Historiker, politischer Journalist und Schriftsteller Martin Walker mit seiner Familie ins Périgord. Inspiriert von dessen Historie und seinen Bewohnern, entstand 2008 sein erster Kriminalroman Bruno – Chef de policeSeine Bruno-Romane erschienen in 18 Sprachen. Ebenfalls im Périgord spielt der historische Roman Schatten an der Wand, der 2012 erschien.

book-2135768_1280b
cropped-MON_Logo_Marke_Pant187_1c_pos.png

Kontaktdaten

24680 Lamonzie Saint Martin
Bergerac

+33 7 83 41 33 10
axel.boesch@chateaudemonboucher.com

Unsere Kanäle

© Château de Monboucher. All Rights Reserved